It’s all fun and games until Pinterest

I think it’s just time I came clean. I am not a made-for-Pinterest mom when it comes to parties (and pretty much everything else).

My youngest girl turns 5 next week and we’re having her party this weekend. I spent hours scouring Pinterest for ideas pertaining to all things Frozen (the latest Disney blockbuster) and daydreaming about all the possibilities.

But somewhere between the pinning and the planning I totally lose all desire to go over the top.

Y’all, what happened to the days when it was cake, ice cream and, if you were lucky, a piñata your mom scored at the grocery store? That’s my kinda party.

No color coordinated napkins, plates, table clothes, banners, tissue paper chandeliers, triple tier centerpieces, candy buffets, fancy paper straws…and the list goes on.

It seems the birthday party has become the new wedding in terms of planning the little details.

In the mix of all the super adorable pins I’m tempted to go all Tori Spelling Party Planner with it but then I realize it’s just a ridiculous amount of time and energy spent that I. Do. Not. Have.

My daughter won’t know the difference anyway. The only details she’s asked about are who’s coming and whether or not she gets a cupcake.

So, I’m just rolling with what I’ve got so far. Mismatched plates, homemade cupcakes (not from scratch), and a million hot dogs (thank the lawd I won’t be cooking them). Lucky for me, there was a Frozen freebie that I printed (back before my party zeal wore off) for cupcake toppers, favor bags and bottle labels. That’s the extent of our Disney regalia. Oh, and there will be a bounce house. Because that requires no assembly by me and I love jumping in them it’s instant entertainment.

Party on.
.

20140425-231925.jpg

One thought on “It’s all fun and games until Pinterest

  1. Love the blue cupcakes. I’m with you, little kids don’t appreciate or remember all the hoopla. Once you have a huge party, then you have to top that every year. UGH. The older I get, the I appreciate simple!

Leave your two cents; I love reading your comments! Be sure to leave a link to your blog so I can share the love.

