Gladware Snowglobes: A Christmas craft

Now that I’ve got plenty of time on my hands and nothing to do but get well, I have a chance to write about some of the fun things we made at school before Christmas break started.

My favorite has to be the Snowglobes my mentor teacher and I made with our classes.

20121224-141539.jpg
Too cute, really easy to make, and the kids loved them.

Here’s what you’ll need:

20121224-134702.jpg
•Glad 4 oz Mini Round Containers & Lids
•Jumbo sized marshmallows (I used just over a bag for a class of 22)
•Black permanent markers
•Wooden toothpicks
•Orange chenille stems (aka pipe cleaners)
•A hot glue gun and glue sticks
•Fake snow
•Silver glitter (aka Christmas spirit 🙂 )
•Ribbon (optional*)

I did these in small groups of students since there was a hot glue gun involved. I did all the hot gluing but with little ones, I thought it best to be able to keep an eye on each of them as they made their snowmen.

My prep work included cutting the orange pipe cleaners into 1/2-3/4 inch pieces for noses, breaking toothpicks in half for the arms and plugging in the hot glue gun.

I gave each child two marshmallows, a permanent marker, a “nose,” and two “arms.” Each student used the black markers to draw coal eyes, and a mouth on one marshmallow, and then buttons on the other. Then they push the orange “nose” into the face marshmallow and an “arm” in each side of the snowman body.

Once the snowman parts are put together, that’s where I come in with the hot glue gun.

First, I glue the two marshmallows together to make an assembled snowman.

20121225-090856.jpg
Then I put hot glue on top of the snowman’s head and glue him upside down to the bowl portion of the mini container.

20121225-090707.jpg

20121225-091401.jpg

Then I let the kids add a pinch or two of fake snow and a sprinkle of Christmas spirit (silver glitter).

Once they’ve added the snow and glitter, the bottom of the snow globe is ready to be put on.

20121225-094404.jpg

To ensure a tight seal, I used hot glue around the inside of the lid rim and then pressed the lid on securely.

20121225-094503.jpg

I had each child turn over their snow globe, give it a shake and voila! A snow globe is born. (*Optional: hot glue a ribbon loop with a bow to the top of the snow glove and create an ornament).

20121225-094559.jpg

Happy blogging and Christmas crafts,
Adrian

1 thought on “Gladware Snowglobes: A Christmas craft

Leave your two cents; I love reading your comments! Be sure to leave a link to your blog so I can share the love.